Do you like you?

Do you like you?

I was struck this week by the notion that throughout my life I have done things that I am not proud of and I think that that is part of growing up. However the most startling revelation is that before I was ill I’m not sure I would have wanted to be friends with me.

I would have wanted to party with me that’s for sure but would I want to have truly been my friend and I don’t think i wold have done. It’s taken being ill for me to like myself and to like what I have become. All the best things that have happened to me have happened since I have been ill. Now that could well be coincidence but I’m not so sure.

Cancer has made me more open to accept opportunity has made me more tolerant and has frankly made me a nicer person to be with. I can’t imagine where I would be today without having been ill …. my career would probably be more advanced, I’d probably have a lot more money I would be materialistically better off but spiritually and emotionally I’ll stick where I am because now I would want to meet me.

3 thoughts on “Do you like you?

  1. Mskiasway says:

    I love this truth. I was just talking about the other day how having had cancer has changed my life and me for the better.Even though it was an extremely difficult journey it needed to happen. Love and Light to you. xo

Leave a Reply

